Day Three – Piccadilly Circus

Remember how I said the other day that I couldn’t find Piccadilly Circus? I was there the whole time and didn’t know. If I’d had just turned around and walked in the opposite direction I would have seen what I was looking for!!! *sigh*

Anyway, pictures are posted on facebook now. Yesterday was a day of getting things done – had my BUNAC orientation, went to the bank to set up a bank account, and went to speed flatmating. 

Getting a bank account here is different than in Canada. It’s not like you can just walk in, set up an account, get a card, and start using it automatically. Here you have to wait 7-10 business days to receive your bank card and my draft of money I brought form Canada will take 5 business days to clear. Good thing I brought cash and a credit card!

Speed flatmating wasn’t fruitful. I guess I’ll just have to keep looking. I also managed to get a few more nights in the hostel, but I do have to move down the street again. So now I have until Wendesday night, instead of tomorrow.

Today I tried to contact more people about flats but didn’t hear anything back. So I went in search of Piccadilly Circus again and found it! I also had to call to start the process of getting a National Insurance Number, which is like your SIN in Canada. I also tried to go to Kings Cross and find platform 9 and 3/4 but I think you actually have to have a train ticket to get in there. Bummer. Another time I guess!

Img_3331

Leave a Reply

