The 10 Best Things About London*

A few of these apply to the UK and English culture as a whole. Basically what I’m trying to say is, it’s awesome. And sometimes, the grass really IS greener on the other side.

  1. There is NEVER nothing to do. Ever.
  2. The Oyster card. I wish public transportation was as easy as one oyster card for the entire world.
  3. The pub culture. None of this couple-of-drinks-and-I’m-going-home thing that happens all too often in North America. It’s just down right fun to be had and nobody wants to leave anytime soon.There’s also no next-day awkwardness because everybody was in the same boat and it doesn’t get brought up again.
  4. Christmas. The entire office is closed between December 23rd and January 3rd, and it doesn’t count towards your paid vacation days. I KNOW. CRAZY TALK.
  5. Work vacation days. The minimum amount of paid vacation is five weeks. FIVE! 
  6. History. It’s pretty darn cool that the majority of everything around you is older than your mind can even concieve the thought of.
  7. Over 8 million people. To some that sounds frightening. To us single girls out there, it means there’s plenty more fish in the sea.
  8. Shopping. Self-explanatory really. From high end designer boutiques to the much more affordable markets, there’s no shortage of selection and places to spend your hard earned pound sterling.
  9. Mobile communication. I pay £15/month for unlimited data, 3000 texts, and 300 minutes on my iPhone 4. I used to pay $90 for much less in Canada.
  10. The people. Everyone I have met so far is so open and happy. They generally want to have a good time and you’re more than welcome to join them. 

*For the geeks out there like me, I DID enter this as an ordered list in HTML but for some reason the CSS on this ready-made blog that I’m using (because I’m too busy/lazy to do one myself) is buggered up and silly. Maybe one of these days I’ll get around to doing a new website… 

2 thoughts on “The 10 Best Things About London*

  1. Ahh, you’ve almost made me miss home 😉 Glad it’s as fun as you were expecting. I just signed 3 years of my life away on a 4S at $100/mo. *twitchy eye* It’s very pretty though. Keep the blogs coming.

Leave a Reply

