Myths, Rumours, and Cultural Historical Facts

Another fairly mellow weekend passes in London. Not that I mind – its nice since I’ve been doing so much since I arrived.

Yesterday Eimear and I tried our first free class of bootcamp pilates. Only one word can describe this. PAIN. No pain no gain though, right? After a quick lunch we headed to the South Bank and walked from London Bridge to Waterloo. I got to see the German Christmas market on the south bank and we walked by The Globe Theatre and the Tate Modern. I learned that the Tate Modern is constructed of an old power station. It’s quite an imposing and industrial structure. It makes you feel quite small and insignificant. 

When we got to the Waterloo area of the market we found a stand that sold slices of cake that looked delicious. As the lady told us what kind each was and she got to the last one and said “Salted Caramel with Fudge and Chocolate” both Eims and I moaned. She had me at “salted caramel”. So, we proceeded to reward ourselves from hard work at pilates with a slice of chocolate cake and cup of tea. It was amazing.

Photo_10

Last night my roommates and friends of theirs did a Chinese hot pot. That was a new experience for me as well. I mostly just ate the meat, shrimp, noodles, and a couple of deep fried tofu. Everything else looked too unrecognizable for me! Their chinese friend had several misconceptions about Canada. A list of Canadian myths I constantly have to correct people on:

  • No, it’s not that cold. Zero degrees is cold for us. (shock and awe!) 
  • No, the weather is not the same across the country
  • Canadians and Americans are not sworn enemies. 
  • No, I don’t speak french.
  • No, we DO NOT say “aboot” 

I’ve also learned a few other things this weekend:

  • Irish and Scottish people have Breakfast, Dinner, Tea, and Supper. Not Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner.
  • Ireland has a massive corrupt religious history. I had no clue – I think they skipped Ireland in our history textbooks in high school.
  • Social standing and classes is STILL a thing here. I was under the impression that was all in the past. Apparently a lot of English people still care far too much about social standing. Being Canadian, it baffles me – because in North America, no such thing exists.
  • South Africa sounds like a place I never want to go. My roommate grew up there and told me horrific stories of the crime and brutality that goes on there. I had no idea. Afer hearing the stories, getting mugged feels really tame and not important. 

Now it’s Sunday evening and the only muscles in my body that don’t ache (from pilates yesterday) are in my face. Pretty laid back day which is nice but soon I am off on a second date! 

Photo_17

 

One thought on “Myths, Rumours, and Cultural Historical Facts

  1. They skip religion in history textbooks. Then you get to university and the truth comes out…The class system is a part of the reason we immigrated to Canada.The French thing drove me nuts! But you can’t really blame anyone because the Canadian PR team has done such a number on everyone. It’s a bit like assuming someone from Cornwall speaks Gaelic though, at least for Vancouverites.

Leave a Reply

