A Trip to Finland

I sit here with a hot cup of tea as Mr. Sinatra croons White Christmas to me and I reminisce on the last couple of weeks.

A lot has happened, or it feels like it anyway. This past week I found myself in whirl of travel excitement as I boarded a plane for Helsinki, Finland. It was a work trip for Nokia and it turned out to be really beneficial and productive but also fun spending time with my pretty awesome colleagues.

The more I travel and meet new people and see new places I become more and more humbled and appreciative. While in Helsinki I stopped by Stockmann, a department store, and was looking for a power adapter for my laptop. I wandered around for quite some time without asking for help until I couldn’t avoid it anymore. I felt so ignorant that I didn’t speak the local language even though they all spoke English. I find the part about travelling that scares me the most is the language barrier. I did learn two Finnish words though, “Moi” (pronounced moy) – which means “hello”, and “Kiitos” (pronounced key-toss) – which means “thank you”.

I’ve also become more appreciative of the things I have and the opportunities that have come my way. Not only that, I am more and more appreciative of my family and friends. As Christmas creeps nearer, I sometimes feel quite sad that I won’t be home for it this year. I wouldn’t ever say I’m “homesick” except at Christmas when our country home is decked out in red, green, and gold and on Christmas we spend the day together mostly eating the delicious things my mum makes throughout the day. I know it’s going to be hard on all of us this year, but some of the best things in life don’t come without a few sacrifices.

While I do miss some things about Vancouver/Chilliwack, like the mountains and the ocean, I wouldn’t leave England just yet. Family and friends can always visit and I know I’ll see them again soon anyway. I long for the day when I can visit home again but for now this amazing journey must continue, even if it does come with a little bit of heartache now and again.

385399_522621491160_97900354_30732921_2106384645_n

One thought on “A Trip to Finland

  1. I feel your pain! When I was in India for Christmas I felt so depressed. But the good thing is, its only 1 day! Enjoy being in a different country and skype home Christmas day. Make your family get up early/stay up late just for you! haha…Audrey, don’t hate me. Love ya!

Leave a Reply

