Turning point

Am I a Londoner? No.
Am I a tourist? Not anymore.
Am I a Canadian? Most definitely.

I noticed today that I’ve never gone on an international trip since the Vancouver Olympics without sporting my Canadian hoody. No pun intended.

Canadian-apparel

On a more serious note, I think nearly two weeks ago I reached a new level of my career. What’s funny is, I didn’t realise it fully until I was sitting in the back of taxi watching the landscape of Finland fly by.

Let’s back up shall we? For the past month or so my friend and colleague, James, has been organising the production of a film for a client, among other projects. While being partly involved I mostly went on doing my usual work for my own projects. During all this I was ridiculously jealous of his pending expense-paid trip to Rio for part of the film shoot. It turns out that it was a blessing in disguise that I was left behind in London.

He was gone for 7 days. 

The day he left, shit got crazy (for who knows what reason) – so it was me who had to pick up the slack of several projects with an immovable deadline. Seven days passed and I feel like I did the amount of work for 4 people, not 2.

In those 7 days a few things probably slipped by me (let’s face it, there’s only so much one person can do and remember when there aren’t enough hours in the day). Overall though, I feel quite proud of myself for just getting to it and not cracking under pressure. By the way, you’d be surprised how helpful listening to Eye of the Tiger and Thunderstruck is to keep you going.

All of this lead up to that taxi driving through Helsinki. As the only person with full critical project knowledge and the technical skills required to follow all the work through to the end, I was sent on a solo mission to Finland for a day to “liaise” the launch of this new project that was my entire existence for 7 days.

Yeah, I know – crazy right?

——-

Sometimes the grass really is greener on the other side. I’ve never regretted my decision to move to London, not even for a second – and it’s times like this that remind me why I came here in the first place.

As I’m writing this post on my phone in transit from the airport, I’m ridiculously exhausted, starving, in a lot of pain, and dirty from travel. But I can’t help but feel that life is pretty good right now, or wait – is it work? I guess if I don’t know the difference, it’s a good thing? (this is the point where I’ve realised that, for the first time ever and in my excitement to get to food, pain killers, and a bed as quickly as possible, I’ve caught my tube connection in the wrong direction and must be the moron that gets off the train and walks across the platform to catch it in the other direction.)

In case you were wondering, yes I do have a pump-up playlist. No, I’m not giving it to you because you should create your own.

… And no I don’t care how cheesy you think I am.

2 thoughts on “Turning point

  1. I also have a pump-up playlist. sadly its for while I clean the house and do dishes. LOVE that your career is going to awesome! This quote from a tv show reminds me of a conversation we’ve had…and its true for you! " Everyone I know is getting married or pregnant. I’m just getting more awesome."

  2. Haha – that’s okay, my pump-up playlist is used for the same things as well sometimes.Thanks so much for that quote… it’s perfect haha. LOVE IT. LOVE YOU. 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

