Kickboxing and robberies

I guess I haven’t been keeping up with the blog the last few weeks have I? The truth is that not much has really happened since I returned to London from Paris. Days pass with undecided weather and a limited reserve in the bank account and so I’ve been spending a lot of my spare time at home, either reading or making my way through seasons of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, thanks to Gwen.

I do have a regular activity now though, in the form of kickboxing. I found a smokin’ deal on Groupon for a 6 week kickboxing course up in Camden and it’s something I’ve always wanted to try, so I went for it. I mean, self-defense, anger management, and exercise all in one? How could I go wrong?

I’m not sure how those guys do it, but these classes make wanting to die enjoyable. It’s the toughest one hour workout I’ve ever done and it happens 3 times a week. At the end of it I’m quite literally sweating like a pig, and by no means attractively. I’ve done 2 weeks now and although during the class there are times when I hate the suffering, at the end of the day I still go back because it’s a good time, I’m noticing results already, and it makes me feel strong (even though I’m a weakling who can barely do but 5 press-ups). If I can afford the classes, I’ll certainly keep doing it after the 6 weeks I’ve already paid for.

As some of you may have heard, I had my iPhone stolen again this past week. Yeah, I know. Second time in seven months – gimme a break London! I’m not even that careless with it! Stupid event made me miss a kickboxing class that day too cause I was dealing with the whole scenario. Really coulda needed a good punching after that too! In any case, insurance should cover it but I still have to pay a lousy £100 in excess and wait for everything to get sorted out before I have an iPhone again. If I get robbed a 3rd time in this city I might seriously consider the expiry date on my time here! Sheesh!

Leave a Reply

