Don’t Worry Be Happy

Well, gee. It’s the 5th of August. Paris is already three months gone and while I feel restless, I also feel exhausted.

Life goes on, much as it has in London, with the usual ups and downs of the roller coaster life we all lead. I continue to meet new people and delight in their company, even if it is sometimes very short-lived. The Olympics have come and I find myself very much disappointed that I am not in any way involved like I was in 2010. Last time I volunteered and was lucky enough to work for a company very thoroughly involved as well. This time I have missed out on both of those paths as well as not been lucky enough (or rich enough, either) to acquire tickets to any events.

I have been keeping up with much of the events on the BBC though and the general hype is exciting in itself. I actually find myself cheering for Canada AND Great Britain (it only seems fair). I must make an effort in the coming week and a bit to do some of the other things, like free country pavilions, before it is all over. The dilemma is that London can sometimes wear a lady down with it’s fast paced lifestyle and influx of pushing, shoving, ignorant tourists (let people OFF the train first, damn it!). Granted there are others a great deal busier than me, but I don’t know how they find the energy for it. With kickboxing three times a week a little less than an hour’s journey from home and the remaining four days of the week quickly snatched up with social engagements or the good intentions of going home and actually getting laundry done, I find myself only just a little worn down around the edges. It’s time for another vacation.


Unfortunately, holidays will have to wait. I have set aside the next several months to save up for going home for Christmas and so that means any more endeavours outside of London will have to wait until the New Year. I’m thinking Scotland is next on my list, and then perhaps Italy or Spain. Or Germany. Or maybe even Greece. Oh choices, choices, choices.

Lately I feel pulled to think more and more of my impending work visa expiration. It doesn’t expire for another year, but I still think ‘impending’ is the right term as time seems to move on its own accord when one doesn’t pay notice. It seems I’m not the only one either – I’ve had several people bring it up to me, asking me how long I’ve been and how long I’ve got left. The fact is that I know my options for when August 2013 comes around, but I cannot begin to make a decision for quite some time yet. Nevertheless, no matter what I do, whatever I choose will require money and lots of it (what doesn’t in this world, eh?).

Right now I have three options: (1) Return to Vancouver and re-settle in my beloved home city with more work experience and job opportunities than last time. (2) Store the majority of my belongings with friends in London and travel Europe for a few weeks/months and then return home as per option 1. (3) Potentially obtain a sponsorship by my current employer to allow me to stay in the UK for a bit longer.

As I mentioned, all said options require copious amounts of cash (*groan*) since even staying in the UK means the cost of a sponsorship visa.

Amidst all my constantly swirling and overwhelming thoughts though, I can once in a while pull myself back a little outside the tornado with a little help from Bobby McFerrin. Cause he’s right ya know, sometimes there’s not a lot you can do, so for the time being… don’t worry, be happy.

Leave a Reply

