A mish-mash update from London

As far as I can remember, up until a week ago, I had never ever been to the zoo. And so I ventured to an evening of “zoo lates” at the London Zoo with a good friend of mine last Friday night. I’m not quite sure what I was expecting, but I was ridiculously excited to go and see animals from far off places. I did get to see lions and tigers and penguins (oh my!) however the one thing I really wanted to see but unfortunately missed, was the giraffes. I’ve been told they can be seen from outside the zoo (that’s how big they are!) so hopefully someone will take me by there again some time to see.

This past Wednesday my friend Anita was lovely enough to invite me along with her and some other friends to be in the studio audience for the Graham Norton Show. I’ve never done anything like this before and it was actually pretty cool! For those who don’t know, the Graham Norton Show is a talk show here in Britain that has celebrity guests on to promote their work and have a little fun. If you’ve not seen it yet, I highly recommend watching the below six minutes with Will Smith. The guests on the night we were there were Sandra Bullock, Samuel L Jackson, and Nick Frost. All great guests and I love how blunt Samuel L Jackson is.

This past week I also finally received my limited edition kickstarter reward Fitzroy film poster, designed and illustrated by my good friend Marko and delivered to me by my other good friend James, who is producing the film. I can’t wait to get this poster nicely framed and placed on my wall, I love it!

In my last post, I mentioned that there were some timing complications with my work visa application. The result is that yes, I had to pay an additional £550 to change my flight to July. That’s a £450 difference in flight fare and a £100 change fee. Despite the dark cloud of having to pay for this flight change which I can’t really afford, there are several silver linings to be thankful for. Firstly, my Certificate of Sponsorship was granted (in time for if I HADN’T changed my flight, of course!) so now the first hurdle is passed and there is not much left to do in preparation to apply for the work visa (passport photos, bank letters, etc). Secondly, my next kickboxing grading for my red 2 belt is scheduled to happen before I leave so that will be taken care of and I will be well prepared for it. Thirdly, I get to see my best friend in the lead role of a production of Joseph and the Technicolour Dreamcoat while I am in Canada. And lastly, I still get to celebrate my birthday and attend a concert here in London before I head back to Vancouver on the 18th of July. So all in all its not so bad, just expensive!

Lastly, tomorrow is Father’s Day. So I will end with a Happy Father’s Day to all of the dads I know! To my own father, the only words that are coming to mind right now are “thank you”. However these words and any others I could say are completely inadequate. There is nothing I can say or do to express my gratitude for such a great dad. I just wish I could give more to show my gratitude for the support and love he has given both myself and my mom these past 10 years. So, in lack of proper words, THANKS DAD and I LOVE YOU ALWAYS.

Leave a Reply

